0032 – Vatican City

1001_travel_destinations_vatican_city-wallpaper1001-travel-destinations-vatican-cityphotography-2013 1001-travel-destinations-vatican-city-photos 1001-travel-destinations--Vatican-City-St-Peters-Basilica 1001-travel-destinations-vatican-museum-italy cathedrale_saint_pierre_1001_travel_destinations_amazing_view_2013 cathedrale-saint-pierre-easter-services-Vatican-City-1001-travel-destinations-Wallpaper dome-at-vatican-city-1001-travel-destinations-wallpaper-photography dome-at-vatican-city-wallpaper Night-Light-Bridge-St.-Peters-Basilica-Vatican-City-wallpaper-1001-travel-destinations Saint-Peter-Basilica was taken at night in Vatican City in Rome-Italy Saint-Peters-Square-in-Vatican-City-wallpaper-1001-travel-destinations San-Pietro-Vatican-City-1001-travel-destinations-wallpaper_photography-2013 st_peters_square_vatican_city_rome_italy_residence_of_the_pope_evening_buildings_architecture_fountain_1001_travel_destinations St-PeterS-Cathedral-Vatican-City-Rome-Italy-Wallpaper-1001-travel-destinations Vatican-City-1001-travel-destinations-Wallpaper-city vatican-city-map-1001-travel-destinations-amazing-photography Vatican-City-Wallpaper-1001-travel-destinations Vatican-Italy-1001-travel-destinations

20 beautiful pictures >>

Vatican City or Vatican City State,in Italian officially Stato della Città del Vaticano is a landlocked sovereign city-state whose territory consists of a walled enclave within the city of Rome.
It has an area of approximately 44 hectares (110 acres), and a population of just over 800.
This makes Vatican City the smallest internationally recognized independent state in the world by both area and population.

Vatican City was established as an independent state in 1929 by the Lateran Treaty, signed by Cardinal Secretary of State Pietro Gasparri, on behalf of Pope Pius XI and by Prime Minister and
Head of Government Benito Mussolini on behalf of King Victor Emmanuel III of Italy.

Vatican City State is distinct from the Holy See,which dates back to early Christianity and is the main episcopal see of 1.2 billion Latin and Eastern Catholic adherents around the globe.
Ordinances of Vatican City are published in Italian; official documents of the Holy See are issued mainly in Latin. The two entities have distinct passports: the Holy See, not being a country,
issues only diplomatic and service passports, whereas Vatican City State issues normal passports. In each case, very few passports are issued.

The Lateran Treaty of 1929, which brought the city-state into existence, spoke of it as a new creation (Preamble and Article III), not as a vestige of the much larger Papal States (756–1870)
that had previously encompassed much of central Italy. Most of this territory was absorbed into the Kingdom of Italy in 1860, and the final portion, namely the city of Rome with Lazio, ten years
later, in 1870.
Vatican City is an ecclesiastical or sacerdotal-monarchical state, ruled by the Bishop of Rome—the Pope. The highest state functionaries are all Catholic clergymen of various national origins.
It is the sovereign territory of the Holy See (Sancta Sedes) and the location of the Pope’s residence, referred to as the Apostolic Palace.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s